stir the pot iv

Who We Are

The New Haven Food Policy Council is a volunteer advisory board for the City of New Haven. Our eleven Council members are New Haven residents, appointed by the Mayor and the Board of Aldermen. We are a collaborative group working to address local and regional food issues and the impacts on individuals, communities, businesses, the environment and local government. The New Haven Food Policy Council meets on the third Wednesday of every month from 8:30 — 10 a.m. at City Hall Room 1. Council meeting are open to the public.


kim acosta

Kim Acosta


Kim is an AmeriCorps VISTA with CTCORE-Organize Now! and serves on the Fair Haven Community Management Team.


Raven Blake


Raven is the new Manager of Food Operations at ConnCORP and co-founded the LoveFed New Haven initiative.


Austin Bryniarski

Chair, Councilmember

Austin is currently a student at the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies.


Mark Firla


Mark is a community organizer and has spearheaded efforts around Summer Meal advocacy in and around New Haven for the past five years.


Susan Harris


Susan is a longtime advocate for food security, is on the REACH grant steering committee, and is currently a Tsai CITY Neighbor-in-Residence.

kim hart

Kim Hart


Kim is co-founder of Witnesses to Hunger — New Haven Chapter and an active member of Mothers and Others for Justice.


Alycia Santilli


Alycia is director of the Community Alliance for Research and Engagement (CARE) and is past chair of the Council.


Richard Furlow

Councilmember, Alder Representative

Richard serves Ward 27 of New Haven and as the alder representative to the Council.


Latha Swamy

Director, Food Systems Policy Division

Latha is director of the Food Systems Policy Division at the City of New Haven.

Want to join us?

We are currently seeking New Haven residents to fill positions on the Council. Fill out the form here and be in touch.